General Boards > Off Topic

how to improve mobile phone signal strength

(1/4) > >>

jack-fc:
We often camp far from mobile reception and happily accept this. Often we deliberately camp in such areas to be blissfully incommunicado! However, our 'eco-warrior' son recently convinced us to (very reluctantly) cease buying newspapers and get them on computer/phone. This will apparently prevent the oceans from rising, slow down global warming and save the planet in general... (We live in western coastal Lockdanistan and enjoy going north for more warmth; if global warming happens, we mightn't have to burn so much fuel seeking warmth!)
Two issues have arisen since we went techo papers - one; we no longer have paper to light campfires and I'm not good at rubbing sticks together, and two - too often the phone reception is not good enough for the LotO to read the papers in bed while I light the campfire, make her a cuppa and toast the savoury damper for her brekky in bed. Consequently, the LotO reckons I should 'do something' to improve the phone reception. My suggestion that she should get her arse out of bed and take her 'devices' to the top of the nearest  mountain, or climb a big tree was somewhat less than warmly received...

So the old fart techtard (me) went searching on the interweb thingy when we got home, and after many hours I have achieved a state of confusion marginally higher than when I started... Some gizmos promise the world but cost more than a sat phone. As much as I hate antennas, I would tolerate one on the bullbar in the interests of marital harmony. For $130 or so, seems do-able, but do these antennas plug directly into the 'device'? Do they need a 'cradle' etc?? What about those wire external antennas? Or there seems to be thin wire thingies that can be stuck on the inside of the windscreen....